How to Blog an Exploding Man?

Finishing Touches: I am a Teacher

Posted on: October 9, 2006

As part of our Portfolio, Iv’e made this article about teaching. hope you like ti:

While walking down the corridor, I was thinking of the last two weeks of my stay as a Student-Teacher, I chanced upon a 4th year student. He asked me, “Sir, teacher na po ba kayo dito?” In hoping for a decent answer, I just gave a nod. After that, the student went on.

 

My mind was zeroing in, reverberating the question that the student had just ask. I had to pause before continuing. My life is changing – – rapidly.

 

I have a fear, like anybody, but the difference is that my fear is the only permanent thing in the world — change. And that is one of the reasons why I do like to be a teacher.

 

My connection to the school, to the students, to the educational environment itself, is inseparable. I don’t want to go out and take a seat in my office, facing a desktop computer and typing memorandums, but I still want to sit in a classroom, laugh with my “classmates” and everything.

 

That night, I asked myself: Is that the reason why I want to teach? Definitely, it’s a no! Then what? It’s the reason of being a teacher itself that I AM A TEACHER.

 

But what do they really mean? I do not know yet, but I am sure that I will know them, someday, somehow, somewhere. It is the passion, a burning desire in the heart, to make a change, to teach young minds, to form values and create space. And that I was born the first moment that a question leaped from the mouth of a child*

Once, I had a chance to read a poem by John W. Schlatter, entitled I AM A TEACHER.

This time, I want to slice up the title it self. I AM and A TEACHER

 

“I AM” means that I am a paradox of learning, I teach while I learn. I teach what is in the book, what other knowledge that they need, what values and characteristics they need to have, uplift their moral decency and moral outlook, and battling for their rights while learning their responsibility.

 

But I also learn, the knowledge and secret of life, yearning the best of life with interaction and communication, making an echo of all things naked and true, and discover new ideas through the use of questions.*

 

“A TEACHER” must penetrate the students’ minds and hearts by being a mentor and by being a good example to them. As one, a teacher must not say, everything, he must be a facilitator, a guardian, a keeper. Thus I am fortunate of those who labor.*

 

But more than that, a teacher must be your everyday citizen, he must be called upon to be an actor, friend, nurse and doctor, coach, finder of lost articles, money lender, taxi driver, psychologist, substitute parent, salesman, politician and a keeper of the faith.*

 

And thus, a teacher has great allies that rushes to my need: Intelligence, Aptitude, Curiosity, Parental Support, Individuality and Uniqueness, Creativity, Faith and Conviction, Love and Laughter

 

One day, when I met that young man again and asked me that same question, I’ll confidently answer him, yes, I am a teacher.

* Excerpt from I AM A TEACHER, by John W. Schlatter – for reference of this article pls see: https://charleslemark.wordpress.com/2006/07/24/i-am-a-teacher/

Leave a Reply

