How to Blog an Exploding Man?

Charles’ Reviews: Evan Almighty

Posted on: August 28, 2007

One day before my Licensure Examination for Teachers, I decided to relax a bit and shrug off my nervous, so I watch a movie. There was no good movie, except for Evan Almighty. Top-billed by Steve Carell and Morgan Freeman.

The movie is the sequel for Bruce Almighty, starring Jim Carrey. But as with the usual sequels, this is better that the first film. The prosthetics used in this film is so superb that anyone can be fooled by Carell’s beard, and growing hair.

The movie revolves around a newly-elected US Congressman, who is working to “Change the World”. They just moved into a new house, and works on a bill that calls for destruction of National Parks and converting them into subdivisions. But as life moves on, strange things start to happen. Animals (all different kinds of animals) start

following Evan around. And the number 614 appears everywhere he goes. Evan soon learns that the number is a verse in the Bible. In the book of Genesis, 6:14 is the verse in which God instructs Noah to build the ark. The ark was designed to meet the actual measurements of the biblical ark, measuring 450 feet long, 80 feet wide, and 51 feet high.

There are some funny memorable lines in the movie that really put me close to my tears. Like this one of Evan Baxter and Marty’s conversation: “I can’t shave, because everytime I shave, it grows again” “That what happens when you shave, but then, you shave again.”

There are also some realizations about what we wish from God, and what God gives us. God doesn’t give things, he gives the opportunity to get things. For example, God doesn’t give a family togetherness, he gives the opportunity for families to be together. We doesn’t change the world all at once: to change the world, we must change ourselves, by doing Acts of Random Kindness (“ARK”) one at a time.

I give this film 4.5 out of 5 stars.

If you haven’t seen the film yet? Here’s the trailer from YouTube:

4 Responses to "Charles’ Reviews: Evan Almighty"

sir mjo korny ung ending nito .. d ko naintindihan .. hehehe ..

hahaha..
maganda nama eh, may lesson sa end..

[…] Reviews: Manay Po 2: Overload April 25, 2008 Its been years since I had my last movie review (Evan Almighty), but now since its vacation, I can do a lot more. Just this week, I watched two movies that opened: […]

[…] been years since I had my last movie review (Evan Almighty), but now since its vacation, I can do a lot more. Just this week, I watched two movies that opened: […]

Leave a Reply

