How to Blog an Exploding Man?

Charles’ Reviews: Manay Po 2: Overload

Posted on: April 25, 2008

Its been years since I had my last movie review (Evan Almighty), but now since its vacation, I can do a lot more. Just this week, I watched two movies that opened: a local gay-themed comedy Manay Po 2: Overload; and a foreign parody Superhero Movie. But right now, I’m going to tell about Manay Po!

MANAY PO 2: OVERLOAD, Regal Entertainment

I won’t deny that I have a lot of gay friends, and I do enjoy their company – they always give me a big laugh – that’s why a lot of entertainment media uses gays as a point of comedic values of the industry. And they have not failed to entertain us. So, if you find gay humor amusing, then you can spend some time watching this film, and definitely, you won’t waste time and, of course, precious money.

Manay Po 2: Overload is the continuing saga of Luzviminda Dimagiba (Cherry Pie Picache) and her three gay sons: Oscar (Polo Ravales), Orson (John Prats) and Orwell (Jiro Manio). Imagine, a mother with three gay sons, with different levels of “gayness”. Some would call it sick, but their family is actually working perfectly that their relationship with each other is pretty amazing.

Aside from the main theme of this film, another social issue was touched: Baby-maker. Ruffa Mae Quinto played a new character here (Bette), which some would tell, transport the focus of the film from Luzviminda to Bette. Ruffa says that she is the “Overload” in the film.

How do Bette find herself with the family of Dimagibas, and how is she going with them? Well, that is how the main story plot evolves, and as with my other reviews, I wont give much.

Anyway, I give this film 3.75 out of 5 stars.

If you haven’t seen the movie trailer, here’s a copy from YouTube.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

